UCLA Bruins Looking for 109th Title in College World Series

The UCLA Bruins have won 108 NCAA Championships, four more than second place Stanford University, ten more than “won” by the brain surgeons from the u of southern cal, and more than double the 51 won by the next school in order, Oklahoma State University.

But none, zero, nada, in Baseball.

That could change over the next thee days as the Bruins take on Mississippi St. in the best-of-three finals of the College World Series, with the opening game starting at 5:00 PDT tonight.

Shop for UCLA Bruins Gear at Fanatics!
The Bruins are a horrible offensive team, but one with great defense and fabulous pitching that includes three solid starters and a great bullpen featuring the top closer in college baseball, Dave Berg, the Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year, who has recorded 24 saves while compiling a 0.96 ERA and a seven-to-one strikeout-to-walk ratio.

Both team are undefeated in the CWS so far, with the Bruins having gone 3-0

while scoring only a record-tying low of eight runs. The pitching that has got them this far gave up only three runs, for a 1.00 ERA. Junior righty and Bruins” ace Adam Plutko (9-3, 2.29) will get the start tonight against the Bulldogs, who feature right fielder Hunter Renfroe who has hit 16 home runs with 65 RBI. The Bruins as a team hit a total of only 19 home runs all season.

Mississippi’s top starter, Kendall Graveman, pitched Friday, and he likely would not start until Wednesday, if need be. The UCLA staff is well rested, with numbers two and three, Nick Vander Tuig (13-4, 2.31) and Grant Watson (9-3, 3.01) who pitched a great six shutout innings in the semi clincher on Saturday, ready to go tomorrow and Wednesday.

Pitching, defense, and great execution has gotten the Bruins this far. Two more wins to go.

This entry was posted in College Baseball and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>